Aarogya Setu has been updated to allow users to permanently delete their account. Additionally, the app has added an option that will allow users to choose if they want to give external apps permission to access their health status.
Now, when users open Settings in the Aarogya Setu app, they will find two new options – ‘Approval for Aarogya Setu Status’ and ‘Delete My Account’. By selecting the ‘Approval for Aarogya Setu Status’ option, as the name suggests, users can give external apps access to their health status in the app. At the moment this feature is only available to iOS users.
Also, users now have the option to permanently delete their account on the Aarogya Setu. Users will have to click on the ‘Delete My Account’ option on Android and ‘delete_account_title’ on iOS in the app’s Settings menu and then enter the mobile number linked to their account. The user account registration will be immediately deleted along with the app data on the mobile device. But the user data on government servers will be deleted after 30 days. Importantly, just uninstalling the app from your phone will only delete the app data on the device and not on government servers.